About Legislative Assembly of Uttar Pradesh


CM of Uttar Pradesh - Akhilesh Yadav

Type Bicameral
Assembly Constituencies 403
Parlimentary Constituencies 80
Ruling Party Samajwadi Party
Opposition Party Bahujan Samaj Party
Leader of the House Akhilesh Yadav, SP
Governor Ram Naik
Cheif Electoral Officer Arun Singhal

Election in Uttar Pradesh (UP)

Uttar Pradesh is a state in northern India. There are more than 204.2 million populations (2012). In politics point of view, Uttar Pradesh is a big and major state for any political party to assemble their government.

There are 403 Assembly Consitituencies and 80 Lok Sabha Consitituencies. 80 Lok Sabha Consitituencies of Uttar Pradesh always decide a winning factor for any political party.

In last Assembly elections (2012), 4 Major parties (SP, BSP, BJP & INC) has been participated. Out of that, SP (Samajwadi Party) has got majority with winning of 224 Seats. Runner Up (Bahujan Samaj Party) has got 80 Seats. BJP & INC has got 47 and 28 Seats respectively. In 2012, Mr. Akhilesh Yadav has got first opportunity to become Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh.

Next upcoming Assembly elections for Uttar Pradesh will be held in 2017. Dates would be announce by Election Commission in November 2016 and elections will be held around Jan or Feb of 2017.

For Uttar Pradesh, Main election issues are poor law and order condition. As per the Caste religion demographics, majority voters are from Other OBCs, Muslims and Jatavs Dalits. These 3 categories covers around 55% votes in Uttar Pradesh

List of Political Parties in UP

National PartiesState Parties
Bahujan Samaj Party [BSP]Rashtriya Lok Dal [RLD]
Bharatiya Janata Party [BJP]Samajwadi Party [SP]
Communist Party of India [CPI]
Communist Party of India (Marxist) [CPI(M)]
Indian National Congress [INC]

UP Opinion Poll

ABP News16-May-1618512080135